Consequence of Sound

Photo courtesy of David Hall

For the first time since OutKast reunited back in April, André 3000 has sat down for a proper interview. In an extensive conversation with Jon Caramanica of The New York Times, the reclusive MC talked about his place in hip-hop and why, after eight years, he finally agreed to reunite with Big Boi. He also revealed how Prince served an important role in the success of OutKast’s tour, and gave an update on his long-rumored solo album.

Here are some of the highlights:

André credits his starring role in the Hendrix biopic for rekindling his creative fire…  

Honestly, I needed it in my life, too. Hendrix kind of saved me. I was in a not-so-great space, just in a dark place every day. I needed something to focus on to get me out of my depression and rut. Sometimes, when you’re alone, you can let yourself…

View original post 652 more words

